PDA

View Full Version : WS2811 on Teensy 3.0 using FastSPI_LED library

Pages : [1] 2

Wozzy
01-11-2013, 12:47 PM
Hello Everyone,

First, I'll introduce myself: I'm Bob W., I'm new to using the Teensy, C and Arduino IDE, although I have been playing around with PIC microcontrollers programming under PICBASIC for a few years now.

Secondly, I'd like to thank Paul, for all his efforts and the amazing amount of excellent work he has put into the Teensy and supporting his customers.

I just received a Teensy 3.0 and was amazed how easy it was to get it going... I was successfully modifying Blinky within 30 minutes of unpacking it. I compare that to probably a week or more before I was able to figure out how to successfully program my first PIC chip. I also purchased one of the PJRC Micro SD Card Adaptors.

I have a few light strips that I have been playing with, both LPD8806 and WS2811 types.
I've been successful in operating the LPD8806 strip on the T3 using the Adafruit LPD8806 library compiled in the Arduino IDE.
I also had both light strips working on the PIC, however the WS2811 required so much attention from the PIC processor, there was nothing left so I could only do rudimentary light patterns.

I've tried to run both strip types using the FastSPI_LED library, but have been unsuccessful. I suspect it's due to the high clock speed of the Teensy 3.0. I have loaded the latest versions of all the software and everything compiles successfully, but get only junk on the light outputs. The same wiring setup works with LDP8806 library however.

My ultimate goal is to operate the WS2811 strip and be able to read various color patterns from the SD card and control all of this from an android phone using bluetooth. This leads to my questions.

1) Has anyone successfully operated a WS2811 RGB light strip using the FastSPI_LED library on the Teensy 3.0?
If so could you please share any tips for setting up the clock speeds correctly.