looking for ideas on generating RGB colors from accelerometer + gyroscope

Status
Not open for further replies.

neep

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Arduino / Teensy but I do have a background in computer science and some electronics, from my studies long ago.

I'm working on a toy with addressable LEDs that I want to have change colors based on output from an accelerometer and a gyroscope. I have these in one MPU 6050 unit now and I'm able to read raw data, like so:

a/g: -1240 -2460 15652 48 -218 -363
a/g: -1200 -2468 15512 48 -257 -359
a/g: -1096 -2568 15600 40 -207 -363
[...]

These are accelerometer x,y,z and then gyroscope x,y,z. I understand what these values mean, but I want to make some nice color shifts with them, so that if you do this or that movement with the toy, you get a corresponding cool / fluid change in colors. I've already done this with just the accelerometer numbers of a different unit (ADXL345) and that seemed fairly straightforward. I didn't like the noisyness of it, but I suppose filters can solve that issue.

What I'm looking for is ideas for algorithms that I can let loose here, to create RGB colors, which can be 8 bits per color as I'm using a WS2801 LED strip. Since I now have 6 values to mix up it's getting a bit much. I'm not that good at math so perhaps anyone can help me out here with some formulas to try.

Thanks!

Do they spin fast enough to produce POV effect that you could use with strobed patterns (or even lettering, you have enough pixels)? Fast strobing is easy and fun. Maybe you can refresh fast enough to send quick pulses along the strip at certain speeds.

I haven't used a gyro. But wanted to try spin-based POV using an accelerometer. I think from some tests I made with nunchuks a while back, the |x^2 + y^2 + z^2| seems to give a smooth curve that follows swinging. But in the nunchuk case the accelerometer signals clipped at very low G's.