PDA

View Full Version : Help with an Arduino Library

turtle9er
02-17-2013, 08:02 PM
Hi Everyone,

Well I am new to both the arduino and the teensy, so bear with me. I am working on a project that has been using an arduino and I have been using this library to measure 3 things, frequency 440hz to 3000hz, time period (0.01 to 0.02 seconds), and a second time period (.5 to 1 second). Link to library is http://www.avdweb.nl/arduino/hardware-interfacing/frequency-period-counter.html. It is working with the arduino, however I would like to use a teensy due to faster usb write speed, can use 3 interrupts, and it is smaller. I am just wondering why this library will not work with the Teensy 3. I am not sure if it is a simple fix to make it work, or if it is really hard. Like I said I am new to all of this and trying to learn it the best I can. Any help would be great. For reference I have just tried to use the basic example on that website and it does not spit out any serial data. Thanks in advance.

CheapB
02-17-2013, 09:34 PM
Since the sample code compiles fine for T3, there is really nothing we can help with unless you post your code and explain what your problem is. I do believe the interrupts are numbered after the pins eg int1 = pin1

turtle9er
02-17-2013, 10:13 PM
I have tried to change the interrupts to match, I assume when I use pin 3, it is equal to interrupt 3. Here is the code.

#include <FreqPeriodCounter.h>

const byte counterPin = 3;
const byte counterInterrupt = 3; // = pin 3
FreqPeriodCounter counter(counterPin, micros, 0);

void setup(void)
{ Serial.begin(9600);
attachInterrupt(counterInterrupt, counterISR, CHANGE);
}

void loop(void)
{ if(counter.ready()) Serial.println(counter.hertz());
}

void counterISR()
{ counter.poll();
}