Teensy 3.0 and the 595!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katsu

I am fairly new to electrical stuff in general! I wanted to play around with it and a friend recommended the teensy. I like it a lot, and my first few setups worked beautifully.

I recently bought a 595 shift register, as I wanted to mess with controlling multiple LEDs in order to more efficiently use an LED counter display, and initial testing hasn't been stellar. I got a 3.0, which I had trouble figuring out what pins to use for the clock and latch, but I believe I have them down, as I can get an LED to light up. The program I am using takes input from the terminal window to determine which LED to light up, and while serial-write echo messages are showing it is executing the code as expected, I can only get the first LED to light up. I am not too knowledgeable and easily could have done something very stupid with the wiring, but I am not sure what!

Here are a few pictures of my board, I can't help but think it's a problem with the ground:
teensy01.jpg
teensy02.jpg

The problem might be wiring, or it might be code (or both). Can you post the code you are running? Also it would help to draw the schematic of your circuit, the wiring is a little hard to follow from the photos.

A shift register is a simple circuit, so you should be able to test out basic operation without using the Teensy at all. Just try manually connecting the the data input to logic high, and switch the clock input between logic high and low, and observe what the output pins do. Then try again with data input at logic low.

Last edited:
Just a thought, is your breadboard of the type where the power rails are in two halves? If so you need to connect them with jumper wires. I notice the LEDs are mostly on one side of the board, away from the Teensy and the power and ground connections.