Joystick emulation with mouse

Status
Not open for further replies.

eKapalka

Hey
I'm working on a project in which I need a USB mouse to register as a two axis joystick. I asked around another forum, and someone said it could be done using a Teensy USB development board. Is this feasible? I'm trying to control a robot in a holonomic fashion resembling a first person shooter game in order to make it easier for people (my high-school robotics team) to drive. For some reason HID devices like USB mice and Keyboards aren't compatible with our system (National Instruments 4 slot cRIO-II / 8 slot cRIO-I), but Teensy boards are. We've already begun constructing a 28 key half-keyboard to use for directional control, and are just stuck on this. I know we could just use a real joystick or joystick module or even an emulator, but that's a last resort. Let me know what you think! Thanks!

Let me preface this with, all this is theoretical stuff. I have little experience in the arduino world, im just piecing together what I have seen.

I saw this on reddit:
http://www.reddit.com/r/arduino/comments/198wm9/got_a_1983_microsoft_greeneyed_mouse_and_made_it/

now thats a super old school mouse, so the code in that reddit link wouldn't apply directly to a modern usb mouse, so you'll have to find some examples of people doing that with teensy / other arduino devices.

one of the steps would be making the teensy device a host usb device:
http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_USBHostShield.html
(don't have any documentation on doing this for the teensy 3.0)

then you could interpret usb mouse by the teensy and output relevant joystick command to the computer, using the teensy:
http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_joystick.html

That shield does not work with teensy 3.0. I tried and it gives a lot of errors when trying to compile.