syphon to octows2811 (via movie2serial)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ianwinters

I should say I'm relatively new to working in processing & with the teensy 3.0. But -- I just received the first batch of teensy 3's a few days ago and have found the new octo library quite amazing, and have a setup of about 800 ws2811's working happily.

I've run into problems on my next step -- sending a live video stream from other software (isadora & jitter) by replacing the movie player in Paul's movie2serial sketch with a Syphon feed.

While I can get it to compile I'm generating serial port lock errors and a null pointer exception that I can't find, and, know I'm running up against my very rudimentary processing knowledge.

My concern is that changing from using the movie function to using the syphon feed (which is a Pgraphics & canvas subclass without a defined framerate) has some underlying incompatibility I don't know about...

If anyone has any feedback about whether my approach is headed in the right direction it'd be much appreciated.

And if anyone wants to look at my somewhat clumsy code changes I'll happily post once I've had another try at finding the missing constructor.

thanks!

So far, I haven't tried to do anything other than play files. But I'm planning to look at this soon.

If you'd like to discuss it here, please post your code and an exact copy of the error.

Hello Paul -- thanks for taking look.

I've gotten a little farther -- I'm getting one frame to come through syphon before a "port in use exception". it looks almost like the serial initialization is running twice as the list of serial ports prints once, then I get syphon frame, then a second listing of serial ports and the list of exception errors.

The exact error trace is:
Code:
Serial Ports List:
[0] "/dev/tty.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync"
[1] "/dev/cu.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync"
[2] "/dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem"
[3] "/dev/cu.Bluetooth-Modem"
[4] "/dev/tty.usbmodem12341"
[5] "/dev/cu.usbmodem12341"