Zombie Detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

shouldice

Hi all.

I'm a software developer by profession, but I've really enjoyed what little electronics tinkering I've done. My only project so far has been using a Teensy and the USB keyboard library to make an arcade game controller. (http://andrewshouldice.com/like-honey/)

My next project is more ambitious, mostly because (correct me if I'm wrong) it involves running on external power.

Here's the idea:

I live with my girlfriend, who is really spooked by the dark in our house. I'll occasionally hear "there's no such thing as zombies" only half-jokingly muttered at night. We've got night lights, but what I'd really like to give her is 100% assurance that no zombies are within, say, 500 meters.

A small enclosure has a status LED, a two-digit seven-segment-display, and a pushbutton. Whenever the pushbutton is pressed, the status LED starts blinking, and the 7SDs play a little figure-8 "scanning" animation. After a few seconds, the status LED locks to "all clear" green, and the 7SDs happily display that there are exactly 0 zombies within 500 meters. It'd be neat if there was a little speaker crammed in there to make a cheery beep.

So, does this seem reasonable? Any gotchas leap out at anyone? Any tips for someone new to this sort of thing?

I'm pretty sure I can figure out the wiring part, possibly excepting the sound effect. (Pulse width modulation I guess? Haven't played around with that before.) It's the battery thing I'm apprehensive about.

How long should I expect 3 AA batteries to last if I follow the low power tips? (http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/low_power.html) The page seems like it's missing some parts, so I'm a little nervous about making something that'll drain power unnecessarily or melt or something.

Thanks!

Last edited: