How do I load an example from the outside of Arduino example code library?

vt91

I am fairly new to microcontrollers and I bought Teensy v3 after a long time spent messing with PIC controller - based educational modules.
I have a question:
How would I open files of an example project for Teesny (with all Teensy programs installed to the Arduino root)
None of those files want to open. How do I load an example from the outside of Arduino example code library?

Forum - open - Arduino.JPGForum - its own sketches - Arduino.JPG

Each Teensy/Arduino sketch must have a file with the extension .ino
The directory in your example image does not have a .ino file, so the IDE can't open it. If it is PIC code, you would have to edit the code to make it conform to the Arduino sketch structure.

Pete

From that first screenshot, it looks like you're trying to open the (very old) USB examples meant for WinAVR.

Teensyduino includes a newer version of that code which is automatically built into your program when you click the Verify or Upload button in Arduino. Even if you manage to open the code in Ardiuno, it can not work because there is a nearly identical copy already present in the core library. You'll get a massive number of conflicts from all the duplicated stuff. That code is all part of Teensyduino. Select the USB device you want from the Tools > USB Type menu!

Also, that very old USB example code for WinAVR only works on AVR-based Teensy 2.0 boards. You can not use it with Teensy 3.0.

If you want to build programs for Teensy 3.0without Arduino, there is a sample makefile in hardware/teensy/cores/teensy3. See the comments in the makefile for more info. Generally you'd run "make" on the command line. It's also possible to use Eclipse, Visual Micro, or X-code (mac), with plugins people have developed.