PDA

View Full Version : Teensyduino 1.18 Release Candidate #1 Available



Paul
12-16-2013, 10:41 PM
Here is a first release candidate for Teensyduino 1.18.

Several bugs impacting Teensy 3.1 are fixed.



Old beta download links removed. Please use the latest version:
https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_download.html



Please give this a try and report any bugs. Try to include a sample program that reproduces the problem!


Here's a list of the changes since Teensyduino 1.17:


Fix compile errors in several Arduino libraries with Teensy 3.1
Fix OctoWS2811 on Teensy 3.1
Keep unused native SPI chip selects high (disabled), Teensy 3.0 & 3.1

HopWorks
12-17-2013, 02:16 AM
Thank you Paul. Should I uninstall my Arduino IDE and reinstall before running this? Or can I just run it on my already modified Teensy 3.0 teensyduino Arduino IDE.

Thank you for all your hard work and excellent hardware!!

PaulStoffregen
12-17-2013, 06:04 AM
It's perfectly fine to run the 1.18-rc1 installer on an Arduino 1.0.5 with any 1.17 or 1.16 Teensyduino already installed.

HopWorks
12-17-2013, 11:04 PM
I did as you said and all is good, except that the non-overclock speed is still 48 MHz. Shouldn't it be 72 MHz for the 3.1? And now I am wondering if I can run two IDE's and plug two Teensy's in at the same time. Reason? I am using my replaced 3.0 to send looped serial commands to my main project for testing. I suppose I could go through the transition each time, but that will take more time.

Again, thank you Paul!!

HopWorks
12-17-2013, 11:25 PM
I'm sorry Paul, but I didn't see anything that says the teensy loader supports the 3.1. I'm sure it does, but I do not want to hose my new 3.1. Can you confirm?

PaulStoffregen
12-17-2013, 11:44 PM
.... the non-overclock speed is still 48 MHz. Shouldn't it be 72 MHz for the 3.1?

Support for 72 MHz is coming, but it'll be at least a few weeks. It sounds so simple, but it's much more complex than it might seem.



And now I am wondering if I can run two IDE's and plug two Teensy's in at the same time. Reason?


Maybe. You'll have to use Verify and then press the pushbutton on Teensy. Using Upload button will reset the first Teensy it finds, which is pretty much random depending on how the operating system detects them. Odds are 50-50 it picks the right one.

Someday I'm going to make a more advanced Teensy Loader with a lot of nice features I've been dreaming about for the last couple years. But realistically, I probably won't even begin that work in 2014. There's so many other things to do first.... things I think you'll like. ;)

PaulStoffregen
12-17-2013, 11:46 PM
I'm sorry Paul, but I didn't see anything that says the teensy loader supports the 3.1. I'm sure it does, but I do not want to hose my new 3.1. Can you confirm?

Yes, of course Teensy Loader in 1.17 and 1.18-rc1 supports Teensy 3.1.

Older versions, from before Teensy 3.1 was released, of course don't support it. But nothing horribly bad should happen if you try. They just won't be able to program it.

HopWorks
12-18-2013, 12:04 AM
OK Paul Thank you! I'm anxious to see the fruits of your labor in 2014. =) And if I get my Super Spectacular Christmas Wreath completed in time, I'll post a youtube and blog link in here. After all, the WS2812 is what led me to your Teensy in the first place.

HopWorks
12-18-2013, 12:33 AM
Oh no! I was switching back and forth, with two arduino IDE's open (separate sketches anyway), and everything was working great, then something went wrong. Now I get download error in red on my teensy loader when accessing the 3.1. I think it is hosed! =(( I unplugged the usb, closed everything, reconnected, but same thing. Cycles like crazy, then erasing..... then download error.

EDIT: It came back up but oh man was that scary. You said that I couldn't hurt it through the loader and I should have trusted you. I disconnected the RX/TX lines from the 3.0 serial1 that were connected to the TX/RX of the 3.1 (serial2). Clicked program, and then reboot, and now it is working again. Now I'm trying to figure out what the heck just went wrong. OK, no more of this on this thread. Sorry Paul. I was very nervous there for a minute.

PaulStoffregen
12-18-2013, 10:36 AM
Teensy Loader has a Verbose Info window, meant to give detailed info for troubleshooting strange problems. It's hidden in the Help menu (a place nobody ever looks...) When you open the Verbose Info window, it has a menu that lets you save the entire thing to a file, which you can attach to a message.

Of course, if you're using 2 boards connected to each other, possible with other hardware involved, the entire system can get pretty complex. The loader's verbose info often isn't enough to tell exactly what's wrong, but at least it's a good start.

HopWorks
12-18-2013, 02:42 PM
Thank you Paul. That is a very useful tool and I like that you implemented file saving for posting from it to help diagnose an issue. I don't need to thankfully as it is working great! A couple of things I thought you would like to know however.

With two sketches open, and one is teensy 3.1, and the other is Teensy 3.0, you have to select the proper board in each one first before compiling. Meaning that when I change the sketch that is 3.0 to work with the 3.0 board, it changes that on the other sketch too. Also, I have to close the loader before each USB cable swap or it freaks out and tries to program either teensy repeatedly before finally failing. Finally, I have to close my Putty terminal that connects serial through the USB first before programming or it fails.

If I remember to do all this then I can work with both versions just fine. Thank you sir!

jakorten
12-18-2013, 06:34 PM
I just received the two Teensy 3.1 units :) programming right...

galaxip
12-19-2013, 03:46 PM
Thank you Paul. This has been my first update in a while, and while I was happy before, still much has improved.
I'm very happy with your products, this software, and once again the results of my (updated) project.
-John

MichaelMeissner
12-22-2013, 01:26 PM
I noticed that in 1.18rc1, the SoftwareSerial library only checks for Teensy 3.0 (i.e. #if defined(__MK20DX128__)), and it does not have Teensy 3.1 support.

Kasper
12-22-2013, 03:49 PM
Hi,

I've tried this installer and the installer of 1.17. Both give me an error message. However I'm logged in as administrator.

1249

I have my Arduino sketch folder (and thus also the library folder) located in a different location than default. However selecting that folder doesn't work and when selecting the Arduino.app I get the error above.

Mac OSX 10.9.1
Arduino 1.05

I'm also wondering why I need to use an installer? It would be nice if I can copy the Teensy files myself to the hardware folder of the Arduino, in the location I want. Or are there more things that you need to modify with the app?

PaulStoffregen
12-22-2013, 08:15 PM
I noticed that in 1.18rc1, the SoftwareSerial library only checks for Teensy 3.0 (i.e. #if defined(__MK20DX128__)), and it does not have Teensy 3.1 support.

Are you sure?

My copy of 1.0.5 with 1.18-rc1 installed has this in libraries/SoftwareSerial/SoftwareSerial.cpp



#include <avr/interrupt.h>
#include <avr/pgmspace.h>
#include <Arduino.h>
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>


#if defined(__MK20DX128__) || defined(__MK20DX256__)


and this in libraries/SoftwareSerial/SoftwareSerial.h



#define _SS_MAX_RX_BUFF 64 // RX buffer size
#ifndef GCC_VERSION
#define GCC_VERSION (__GNUC__ * 10000 + __GNUC_MINOR__ * 100 + __GNUC_PATCHLEVEL__)
#endif

#if defined(__MK20DX128__) || defined(__MK20DX256__)

class SoftwareSerial : public Stream

PaulStoffregen
12-22-2013, 08:25 PM
I've tried this installer and the installer of 1.17. Both give me an error message. However I'm logged in as administrator.


I can't explain why you're not getting write access. Maybe you could look at the permission associated with those files or directories? On a Mac, control-click on Arduino and use "show package contents" to navigate to the structure inside Arduino.

But the simplest thing would be to just get a fresh copy of Arduino 1.0.5 and extract it to Downloads or Documents, then run the installer on that copy.




I have my Arduino sketch folder (and thus also the library folder) located in a different location than default.


The installer never touches your sketchbook folder. It only installs stuff into the Arduino software itself.



However selecting that folder doesn't work and when selecting the Arduino.app I get the error above.


That's what it's supposed to do. The sketchbook folder is where your programs are stored.



I'm also wondering why I need to use an installer? It would be nice if I can copy the Teensy files myself to the hardware folder of the Arduino, in the location I want. Or are there more things that you need to modify with the app?

There are MANY more things that just extracting files to one directory. Several of the IDE's java objects are modified, so it's far more complex than simply adding files. Many files in the built-in libraries and other places are modified in slight ways, so they'll work or be optimized for Teensy. Many of the files have special logic as to whether they are installed. On Macintosh, there's special handling to make 10.8 and 10.9's gatekeeper checks happy. The installer also has dozens of optional libraries, a complete ARM toolchain for Teensy3, and lots of other stuff. In fact, the 1.18-rc1 installer on Mac has a total of 1934 files embedded which are optionally installed to dozens of different locations within Arduino. It's far too much and too complex for manual installation.

MichaelMeissner
12-22-2013, 10:00 PM
Ah right, I forgot to change the symlink after the doing the install, and I was in the 1.17 directory. Nevermind.

Koromix
12-25-2013, 12:54 AM
Hi Paul, and thanks again for this wonderful product :)

I've got two questions :
- do you plan to fix the function scoped static constructor problem (http://forum.pjrc.com/threads/24440-C-constructors-for-static-objects-in-functions-don-t-seem-to-be-called) of which you must be aware and what exactly is the problem with the simple implementation of the various __cxa_* functions you have commented out in teensy(3)/new.cpp ? As you have defined the symbols as weak, I overwrite them in my projects but I would be happy to remove these hacks
- will the teensy loader CLI be updated soon ? (well, not having a Teensy 3.1 yet I don't wan't to hack it blindly)

PanMillenium
12-28-2013, 01:21 PM
just received my 3.1 Amaizing Paul
1258
will check/port Scoop cooperative scheduler asap :)

scswift
12-29-2013, 08:26 AM
Is 72mhz difficult to do because it's not an even multiple of 16mhz? I believe that that was part of the reason they never upped the Arduino to 20mhz. I'd be happy with 64mhz!

Markus_L811
12-30-2013, 02:38 PM
Hi Paul,

I had installed the 1.18rc on an fresh Arduino 1.0.5 and one used with an older one. The Menue part Tools opens real slow after it, maybe a bug but else realy nice work. Windows system btw.

PaulStoffregen
12-30-2013, 06:37 PM
The Menue part Tools opens real slow

Do you have any bluetooth serial devices on your system?

Markus_L811
12-30-2013, 08:24 PM
Do you have any bluetooth serial devices on your system?

Not really there was an device listed but not connected, after I removed it from the list it the Menue has the proper speed, strange may I had to know thanks Paul, so lets make some moves with my new toy...

PaulStoffregen
12-30-2013, 08:50 PM
Yeah, this has been an long-standing issue with Arduino, where configured but not present bluetooth devices cause long delays as the IDE tries to query for your system's serial port list.

ARMbasic
01-20-2014, 09:07 PM
Does 1.18 support XP?

I'm getting a code 28 driver not initialized for the USB serial device, on an HP netbook running XP

I did the install twice.

Just checking BASIC on XP, though I really do use that netbook when traveling.

ARMbasic
01-20-2014, 09:30 PM
let me answer my own question 1.18-rc2 does support XP, but -rc1 does not

PaulStoffregen
01-20-2014, 09:31 PM
Yes, XP is supported.

If you run the installer again, you might look for the "reinstall driver" button on the page that tells you the driver is already installed.

Another thing to try is right clicking in the device manager and using the option to reinstall the driver. Hopefully one of those will do the trick?

mlewus
01-22-2014, 06:34 AM
Hi Paul,
I have a question about Arduino /Teensyduino version support. I am developing on OS X 10.8.5 on a number of different boards including ATMEGA based boards including Teensy 2.0, the Arduino Due, and the Teensy 3.0 & 3.1. The Arduino Due is not supported in Arduino 1.0.5 software, rather it requires the 1.5.5 Beta. And the Teensyduino software won't install on the 1.5.5 BETA.

It all works OK but the versions are just another error looking for a place to happen. I know this is not a problem of your making, but... are you planning to support the Arduino 1.5.5. beta? If not, how long after it goes production will you support it?

I apologize if this was answered somewhere else, and thanks in advance for any plans you can communicate about this.

Regards,
Mark

Thanks,
Mark

PaulStoffregen
01-22-2014, 11:07 AM
It all works OK but the versions are just another error looking for a place to happen.


Actually, the Arduino Team has put quite a lot of work into designing the Arduino IDE to allow multiple versions to be installed on the same computer and co-exist nicely.



I know this is not a problem of your making, but... are you planning to support the Arduino 1.5.5. beta? If not, how long after it goes production will you support it?


TL;DR = Yes, but not until the library API is stable.

A more detailed answer is here:

http://forum.pjrc.com/threads/24855-Anyone-have-comment-on-ARDUINO-1-5-5-r2-BETA-2014-01-10

unltdsoul
04-12-2014, 11:24 AM
Paul - or anyone,
You said :

[QUOTE=PaulStoffregen;40494]Actually, the Arduino Team has put quite a lot of work into designing the Arduino IDE to allow multiple versions to be installed on the same computer and co-exist nicely.


I am somewhat nubee, i have arduino pro mini got a 3D printer with Mega 2560, then got a Due board, which has been a pita with libraries, had to install the latest Arduino BETA, and had problems trying to get it to generate i2s timings for external audio dacs, i then saw the Teensy 3.1 with your audio shield and also picked up the vs1063 audio shield to try and 'play' with to see which one i want to use in my project (want to be able to get live mic reverb and possibly shift effects while playing a other SPI streaming audio to the DAC). Anyway, since the TeensyDuino doesn't work with the Arduino Beta, - you have said that Arduino team worked hard on allowing multiple version to be installed at same time. So, I tried to run the install for 1.05 again and it sees the BETA installed and tells me I have to Unistall the BETA before it will let me install the 1.05. So, what am i missing here? I need to have both the BETA and 1.05 running so I can develop for Teensy and Due at the same time. What am i doing wrong if that's what you meant that i should be able to run both at same time. I know, this is more an Arduino forum question, but, your the one who said this is possible, so i'll ask you first, thanks (If i had seen the specs on Teensy 3.1 before i saw the Due, I probably wouldn't have bothered with the Due, and if the Teensy 3.1 works as i hipe it will, then bye bye Due...

PaulStoffregen
04-12-2014, 11:55 AM
So, I tried to run the install for 1.05 again and it sees the BETA installed and tells me I have to Unistall the BETA before it will let me install the 1.05. So, what am i missing here?

Perhaps you're using Windows and running Arduino's installer?

You need to download the ZIP files, not the installers, from www.arduino.cc. Then you can extract each ZIP file, for 1.0.5 and 1.5.6, to different folders on your computer. Remember where they are, so when you run the Teensyduino installer, you can select the correct location where you extracted the 1.0.5 ZIP file.

unltdsoul
04-12-2014, 12:24 PM
You're correct, I'm using Windows. Thanks, I'll do that.