First Project - Web Controlable Webcam

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrDyne

Greetings, Teensy users!

Just wanted to post my first project with the teensy.
I'm using the Teensy2++.

I didn't start out to build this, it just kinda happened as I was messing with the teensy for the first time. I've never used anything Arduino before.
So ya it pretty much started when I found the Servo example in the Teensyduino software. My Dad had a box with a really old analog Futaba RC kit. Two spare servos. I didn't know if they would work.

First test was just to see if the servo example would work with these old servos, which they did. But a servo going back and forth is kind of boring.
So I looked at options of controlling the servos position from the computer. Some Googleing and checking out the Serial example I was able to set the servo position by sending a single ASCII character to the COM port. But this was very limited because the only way to control the servo was via a command prompt "echo ! > COM7" or the COM port window in the Arduino IDE. I needed a program that could control the servo position better, but I don't know C++ or Java. All I know is xhtml, css, PHP, batch, and Game Maker.

I figured that controlling the Teensy/servo through a webpage was the coolest idea. So another quick Google I found PHP-Serial script. Works really well with WAMP server on my computer.

So ya, Web browser > Web server > PHP > Serial > Teensy > Servo. And then the week I was building this project my friend gives me an old webcam. So I quickly added the 2nd servo, programed the teensy to accept two ASCII character via serial and then hot glue both the servos and the camera together. (so I have Z and Y axises),

Code:
#include <PWMServo.h>

PWMServo servo_0;
PWMServo servo_1; 
int pos[1];

void setup() 
{ 
  Serial.begin(9600);
  servo_0.attach(SERVO_PIN_A);
  servo_1.attach(SERVO_PIN_B);
  servo_0.write(77);
  servo_1.write(77);
}

void loop() 
{ 
  if (Serial.available() > 1)