Teensy, riding along in my autombile....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrew1

I am not a programmer. But I am trying!
I am a mechanic and I love adding and tinkering. I have come up with several "better" ways of doing things in my old cars via an Arduino but an Uno is ~expensive, bulky and would require extra work to get them to be "automotive ready" i.e. standard connections would need to be soldered, etc.

So:
Is Teensy 2.0 a viable option for using my Arduino programs in a permanent automotive install? (Vibration, heat, cold, has a decent life span?)
Can I hook it right up to the +12v? (which is really 14.7v and has the potential of 17v if something goes wrong)
Am I reading the website correctly that the programing language is the same?

Sorry if that is only as clear as mud, ran out of mountain dew today.

Thanks!

Andrew

You will need a voltage Regulator to convert from 12v-17v to 5v for the Teensy 2.0. Unlike the Uno the Teensy does not come with an onboard regulator.

THe Language should be the same, you just need to select the correct Board in the Arduino IDE and as long as you haven't coded something specific for the UNO then you should be good.

If you use a linear voltage regulator for that stepdown, just make sure you know how much power is going to be dissapted by the regulator. You may need to add a heatsink to it.
If you are feeling up to it, maybe look at a buck converter.

I can't speak for the Teensy 2.0 but we are using Teensy 3.1 in a variety of automotive applications, some permanent all in pretty heavy NVH situations.
If you give more particulars regarding your car's M/M/Y/E (Make/Model/Year/Engine) and your application concept I can probably be more helpful.