how to jump the bootloader for teensy 3.0

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all,
just a heads up, im extremely new to arduino/teensy kinda stuff so i know very little about this stuff, but am looking to learn...

anyhow, i have a project i am working on using the teensy 3.0
the teensy is going to be inaccessible by the time the project is done, but there will be a slot to plug the usb into it still.
hence, i will need any new code uploaded to take into effect without pushing the reload button on the teensy.
i can find how to do it with the 2.0, but cant seem to find the info with the 3.0

how do i go about getting this to work so that when i compile the code on the computer to the teensy it takes into effect immediately?

thanks in advance.

ps, project is putting addressable leds into a Monovelo monowheel so i can control the light patterns...

some progress vids...
2/3rds one side done
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCym-rWtDnI

1 whole side and 1/3rd the backside done...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v2QwMHnMC3s&feature=relmfu
(some glitches in the code still in this one..)

G

Normally that is how the teensy works, you do not need to push the button, except for the very first time you connect it to your computer. After that, when you hit "upload" from the Arduino environment, the Teensy Bootloader pops up, you see "Reboot OK" flash and the Teensy 3 is running your new program.

John is right, you only need to push the button is the Teensy doesn't respond to the reboot request. When it's running previously loaded code (built with Arduino/Teensyduino), it will respond to the reboot request.