Refining touchRead on an LC - and Connecting to mac USB keyboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

notbart

Background;

I have been able to have true NKRO on a custom-keyboard using tactile switches directly from pin to ground w/o resistor; I decided that capacitive touch would be better..

I now have a capacitive touch keyboard consisting of "brass paper clips" directly connected to each Touch pin on the LC. It works great; outstanding and it does send true NKRO.

Here is the code I am using as a reference; (PS I am an economist w/o programming exp of any kind)

Code:
int numkeyspressed = 0;
byte keys[] = {KEY_W, KEY_A, KEY_S, KEY_D, KEY_SPACE, KEY_Q, KEY_E, KEY_R, KEY_I, KEY_J, KEY_K};
int touchit[11];
int tuning = 2000;
int xcount = 0;

void setup()   {
Serial.begin(38400);

}

void loop()
{

Keyboard.set_key1(0);
  Keyboard.set_key2(0);
  Keyboard.set_key3(0);
  Keyboard.set_key4(0);
  Keyboard.set_key5(0);
  Keyboard.set_key6(0);
  numkeyspressed = 1;

touchit[0] = touchRead(A9);
  touchit[1] = touchRead(A8);
  touchit[2] = touchRead(A5);
  touchit[3] = touchRead(A4);
  touchit[4] = touchRead(A3);
  touchit[5] = touchRead(A2);
  touchit[6] = touchRead(A1);
  touchit[7] = touchRead(0);
  touchit[8] = touchRead(1);
  touchit[9] = touchRead(3);
  touchit[10] = touchRead(4);

xcount = 0;
  for (int i = 0; i <= 10; i++) {
    if (touchit[i] > tuning) {
      xcount = xcount + 1;
    //  Serial.println(i);
      switch (xcount) {
        case 1:
          Keyboard.set_key1(keys[i]);
          //Serial.println(touchit[i]);
          break;
        case 2:
          Keyboard.set_key2(keys[i]);
          break;
        case 3:
          Keyboard.set_key3(keys[i]);
          break;
        case 4:
          Keyboard.set_key4(keys[i]);
          break;
        case 5:
          Keyboard.set_key5(keys[i]);
          break;
        case 6:
          Keyboard.set_key6(keys[i]);
          break;

}

}
    if (xcount > 6) {
      xcount = 6;
    }
  }