Teensy 2.0 button input

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wombat

Hi all,

I am very very new to the teensy scene, but i think for what i want teensy is perfect.

So i think i have a few simple questions :), what we need to do is to make a button that wil send a space bar command to the computer.

think of a industrial button paddestoel-noodknop.png in that button i wil place the teensy and with a usb cable connected to a computer.

if i push the button, teensy must send a keyboard space action to the computer, yes that's all;)

What besides the button the teensy and u usb cable do i need to make this work.
do i need a kfw.jpg if yes what colorcode. and how to connect.
on what Chanels on the teensy do i need to connect the button?
I have little programming skills so help on that, or examples will be nice.
and how do i prevent when the usb is inserted in the computer windows want to install a driver.

looking forward to your reactions.

Thanks in advance.
Greetings Kees Brugman.

First, if you've never used Arduino, start with this tutorial.

http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/tutorial.html

In part 3 you'll find info about connecting buttons and making them print to the serial monitor.

The same basic skills apply to sending keystrokes. After you've learned how to connect a button and verify it works using the serial monitor, use File > Examples > Teensy > USB_Keyboard > Buttons for an example that will guide you to sending keyboard presses instead of serial data.

Thanks Paul, that was very helpful, it solved the connection of the button.

do you have any idea about the code i have to use to make it work?