PDA

View Full Version : Different-Range FFT Algorithm

lychrel
12-24-2015, 07:24 PM
I'm using Teensy for an application wherein I'll only be analyzing signals of the frequency domain 0 to 1 kHz, and I'd like to have a higher-precision FFT that spans the 512 bins with a smaller frequency-difference between each two. I'm not very good at this sort of thing; could someone point me in the right direction re how to do this?

Thanks!

cartere
12-24-2015, 08:50 PM
I assume using the audio library? The way you achieve the higher resolution at lower frequencies is to reduce the sample rate Nyquist says 2N for a sample rate where N is the highest frequency of interest. In your case a sample rate of 2khz would give the best resolution. Changing sample rate is not supported with the audio library. I have kludged the library using the ADC input and sampled at 8khz but that was sometime ago and the library is a moving target so might not work now :) Some others (kpc, defragster)? have code that changes the sample rate on the fly but you will have to dig in the forum to find it.

What are you trying to do? It is possible to interpolate values in bins to achieve a much higher resolution.

PaulStoffregen
12-24-2015, 09:24 PM
I believe Frank was working on something like this. Maybe he'll chime in?

Something to consider is the FFT's fundamental trade-off between frequency resolution versus update rate. Higher res means fewer updates per second. For example, if you compute a 1024 point FFT (for 512 bins) on 2 kHz sampled data, you're results will span a 500 ms window of time. There's no escaping this fundamental reality of Fourier Transform.

So, assuming you're ok with updates that span lengthy times (good for analyzing steady signals, much too slow for music or speech), you need to get slower sampled data to feed into a FFT. There's 2 ways to do this...