Help using SPI(or not) to read in 32 bits of clocked serial data

Status
Not open for further replies.

John k2ox

Hi,

I'm new to the Teensy hardware and I am hoping it will help solve my problem.

I am trying to read some serial data from an FPGA. The data is not truly SPI. It is clocked at 1uS and was designed to load 4 serial to parallel chips. The clock line is normally low and puts out 32 1uS 50% duty cycle pulses. A third wire sends a load signal after the 32 bits are sent on the data line.

I programmed a 328p at 16MHz to read in the data using an SPI interrupt. In the ISR I read the first byte and waited for the SPIF flag to read bytes 2,3 and four.

Unfortunately, it totally misses all 32 bits about 1 out of 20 transmissions. After spending hours on this I decided I need a new approach.

I looked over the data sheet for the Teensy 3.2 and the SPI hardware looks much more capable. It has a 32 bit shift register.

Any ideas?

Regards,
John

ISR isn't the place to be doing serial I/O and busy loops! And interrupt latency can be dozens of microseconds, especially on an AVR.
So the FPGA's output needs to allow the MCU (AVR, ARM) time to recognize the data is coming; the FPGA can't just blast data out without giving say, 50 microseconds of lead time. And the MCU has to have preemptive priority on that bit (say, slave select with the MCU as an SPI slave, not master).

You say the FPGA clocks its output data at 1uSec (per bit). So the MCU interface has to be a slave API, accepting the FPGA's clock. And setup to latch on the correct clock edge, perhaps the falling edge since you say the clock is quiescently low. An API slave needs a slave select bit so as to know when the clock and data are relevant, and to know the boundary of a frame. Maybe the load signal is a slave select, true only when the 32 bits are shifting, false before and after.