Novice questions about sound-reactive wearable project

Status
Not open for further replies.

skaurus

Hi!

I am looking to build yet-another sound-reactive wearable project (t-shirt with leds) for upcoming trance music festival :)
This is my first experience with Arduino's or microelectronics at all. No wonder I have a list of questions I need to find answers for to build it. I am trying to research it myself as well as I could but sometimes, being a novice, I have to ask others.

So, maybe you could give me some input about what microphone should I choose? It seems they all not that expensive so lets try to rule out price. I need a good resolution for doing FFT, low noise and it must work in a loud settings (festival after all...). Generally - best quality small-size microphone :)
Most probably I would be using Teensy 3.2 with it. Amazing possibilities for its price, size and power requirements!

At least at what specs should I look? Electret, mems, other type? Maybe "big" one like lavalier would work even better?

Probably best to start with the normal electret mic and the audio shield.

http://www.pjrc.com/store/microphone.html

For use in a wearable project, especially worn while dancing at a festival, the way to position the mic will make far more difference than the type of mic. Even these cheapest electret ones will have a noise floor that's far less than the noise you'll pick up from ruffling of clothes & costumes.

I do not know if that mic works with the audio lib. It might, or it might need a longer than 16 bit word format. The page says 24 bits. I can tell you the I2S code we have now uses 16 bits per LRCLK phase, not 24 or 32.

To get started, I recommend the well traveled path of the audio board and electret mic. You can always try to switch to a different mic later. By then, you'll have gained quite a lot of experience with the rest of the project, which should make these decisions clearer.

Oh. Not so promising then!