Self Contained Synth

Status
Not open for further replies.

JimmyD

Hello,

Is it possible to use the Teensy alone or with something else to have it been a self contained instrument. Such as a pedal board that would trigger bass mp3 or wav files.

Basically press a button and a sound plays and can be connected to an external speaker. And would the usb be the power source using maybe a cell phone charger?

Thanks, I'm a bit new to this.

Yes. You can do it with either the Audio Shield, LC Prop Shield, or Prop Shield with motion sensors.

The Audio Shield gives you stereo output to either headphones or speakers. You would store the mp3/wav files on the micro-SD card. Here is the tutorial on the Audio Shield that goes into great details: http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_Audio.html.

The two Prop Shields gives you mono output to a speaker. The prop shield has a 2 watt amplifier, so you can connect a speaker directly. Instead of a micro-SD card, there is 8 megabytes of flash memory to hold the files. This page discusses the features of the two prop shields: http://www.pjrc.com/store/prop_shield.html.

You power all 3 off of USB power, though you are limited in sound volume by USB power.

Yes. You can do it with either the Audio Shield, LC Prop Shield, or Prop Shield with motion sensors.

The Audio Shield gives you stereo output to either headphones or speakers. You would store the mp3/wav files on the micro-SD card. Here is the tutorial on the Audio Shield that goes into great details: http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_Audio.html.

The two Prop Shields gives you mono output to a speaker. The prop shield has a 2 watt amplifier, so you can connect a speaker directly. Instead of a micro-SD card, there is 8 megabytes of flash memory to hold the files. This page discusses the features of the two prop shields: http://www.pjrc.com/store/prop_shield.html.

You power all 3 off of USB power, though you are limited in sound volume by USB power.