How to Record Audio with Customized Frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

noneven

Hi,

I am new to teensy. I am using Teensy 3.2 to record audio with a customized sample rate(e.g. 50KHz). The input analog signal is from a microphone which has already been filtered and amplifed with a range of 0 -3.3 V. I want to use the ADC on Teensy to sample the data and send to a mac book via the serial port. I am currently using the ADC library to do that, but I failed to find a good way to set the sample rate using that ADC libaray.

Is there any simple way I can use the Audio libarray to set the sample rate and record the data?

Thanks a lot!

The ADC input range is 0 to 1.2V (a DC bias of 0.6V) when the low-noise internal reference is used, which is the default when using the audio lib. You should plan on that signal range for the best results.

The audio lib is designed for 44.1 kHz. But if you edit the AudioInputAnalog object, you can change the PDB timer to run at a different speed. If you do this, do *not* use any other input or output objects, unless you also edit them to run at precisely the same speed.

The audio lib has a queue object which gives you access to the raw data. See the Recorder example and of course the design tool's left-side panel for documentation.

The USB serial should be fast enough to transmit to your mac, as long as an efficient program is receiving. Use an efficient binary protocol. The USB serial is at best about 1.1 MByte/sec speed, and often you'll get quite a bit less if other USB devices are active, so consider how many bytes you're actually sending per sample.

Thanks so much for the reply Paul.
What's the maximum range of the ADC input? 0-5 V? Is there any way I can dive into the libarary and rescale the range of 0-1.2V?
I saw there is another library called ADC(https://github.com/pedvide/ADC) which allows me to customized the ADC input.