Serial Monitor..

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnPunnett

Hi All,

I am relatively new to Teensy 3.2 & making slow progress. Current problem is with displaying things on serial monitor - It seems a bit hit & miss - sometimes it works & other times I get nothing & I have no idea why. I have tried tons of different settings but most of time (say 9 out of 10) it fails to work. I am using

Arduino IDE 1.6.8
Teensy 3.2
I have verified COM Port setting (com5 in device Manager) - it appears & dissappears as I plug Teensy IN & Out
I upload program (which is basically reading data over I2C interface from accelerometer
Once program is uploaded I open Serial monitor with correct virtual com port set & like I say 9 times out of 10 NOTHING... :-(

It has worked though but no idea why.

I have also verified that prog works perfectly using same sensor & an UNO-R3 board..

I have tried various things suggested in posts to get working but still no joy.

Would really appreciate any help.

Many thanks, John

The Teensy uses native USB to talk to the PC so it doesn't matter what the COM port is as long as there is a connection.
One thing that might be getting you is that the communication is so fast that anything that is sent when your code first starts up may already have been sent before the Serial monitor has a chance to see it. If that's the case, you can make your code wait until the Serial object is instantiated like this:
Code:
  Serial.begin(9600); // The baud rate here doesn't matter
  while(!Serial); //wait for Serial to instantiate

Pete

Hi All,

I am relatively new to Teensy 3.2 & making slow progress. Current problem is with displaying things on serial monitor - It seems a bit hit & miss - sometimes it works & other times I get nothing & I have no idea why. I have tried tons of different settings but most of time (say 9 out of 10) it fails to work. I am using

Arduino IDE 1.6.8
Teensy 3.2