Phone Compatible Game Controller Using Teensy 3.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lukef

Hello,

So I am trying to create a game controller (with the same functionality of an XBox controller) that will plug into a phone (Android 7.x) via a micro USB connection. What I am wondering is which pins on my Teensy 3.6 would I connect all my inputs to? So, where would the joysticks plug into, the D-Pad, and all the other various buttons. Also, would I need to code anything for my phone to recognize the controller, or is that dependent on the game I am playing? I am very new to this but I do have an experienced engineer working with me so if it is possible to provide a basic answer for me and a more technical one that he would understand that would be great. If you can't do both then a technical one would be best.

Thanks so much!
Luke

Hello Lukef,

The Teensy has a gaming pad mode ; then you can configure which input does what as you can see in the example available with TeensyDuino. The next question is wether your phone will recognize the gaming pad as such or not, which is a good question I can currently not answer, but maybe Saturday if you have had no answer since then AND ask me again (like Friday evening). It works fine with several Linux distros I have tested though, so there are reasons to hope !

Ciao

Squeeek

Squeeek,

Thank you so much for your help!
One thing I was wondering is how would we configure the inputs? Maybe if you have a link to a page where it shows us how to do this? I've been looking around and can't find much... And the phone should receive the controller pretty well, or at least, so I've heard. We'll have to see when we get there.

Thanks,
Lukef

Hi Lukef,