Using two Teensy as one

Status
Not open for further replies.

apt2b

Hi all,

My project requires numerous analog outputs, for this reason I'm going to use 2 Teensy 3.6's and 2 Audio Adapter boards - I'm told with these I can achieve 8 unique analog output signals.

How would I go about programming two separate teensy's and their audio boards so that they operate as one, allowing me to achieve precise timing in when each output is activated. I apologize if this question is vague or trivial, but I'm a beginner at making multiple devices communicate.

Thanks!

-apt2b

What's the application? What's the level of accuracy on the timings and why? How accurate do you need to read/write your signals? How often do you need to refresh the output?
Using two audio adapters will give you four inputs and four outputs, is that what you want?

The only answer to your question is that there are numerous ways to synchronise the operation of two devices. It's certainly possible, and can be done quite accurately (and precisely), but needs context.

Hi all,

My project requires numerous analog outputs, for this reason I'm going to use 2 Teensy 3.6's and 2 Audio Adapter boards - I'm told with these I can achieve 8 unique analog output signals.

How would I go about programming two separate teensy's and their audio boards so that they operate as one, allowing me to achieve precise timing in when each output is activated. I apologize if this question is vague or trivial, but I'm a beginner at making multiple devices communicate.

Thanks!

-apt2b
You need 2 Teensies and 4 (four) Audio adapters for 8 channels.
To synchronize the whole system, one of the teensy is the master for I2S MCLK, frame sync, and bit-clock, the other teensy acts as slave,
Suggest however, to start with one teensy and one audio adapter, later get 2nd adapter added, before addressing an 8-channel system.