Installing on Ubuntu 12.04

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all

I am trying to install the programs I need to run teensy 2.0 on Ubuntu but I am completely lost. Does anyone know of a guide that I can follow for a complete beginner. I tried to follow the install on the website but aint a clue what I am doing.

Many thanks for some suggestions in advance.

Matthew

Ok I am lost as to what I am ment to do.

# This file must be placed at:
#
# /etc/udev/rules.d/49-teensy.rules (preferred location)
# or
# /lib/udev/rules.d/49-teensy.rules (req'd on some broken systems)

What file ? I have downloaded the gzip file and placed it on my desktop but have not unzipped it as of yet.

Please advise.

Thanks a million.

Matt

/etc/udev/rules.d/ is a directory that already exists on your system.

The file is the one you were looking at, with this stuff:

# This file must be placed at:
#
# /etc/udev/rules.d/49-teensy.rules (preferred location)

Here's the link:

http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/49-teensy.rules

While viewing that, use the File menu in your browser to save it. Name it "49-teensy.rules". Make a mental note of the location where you've saved it. Then use whatever program you prefer to copy file, to make a copy into the /etc/udev/rules.d/ directory. That directory requires root permissions to write.

Perhaps I should add code in the Teensy Loader to do this automatically? The tricky part, which I'm not very familiar with doing, is how to prompt the user to their password and obtain root permission to copy the file. If anyone reading this is a Linux programming expert, what's the best way to accomplish that, from a program like Teensy Loader that does not run with root permission, and isn't designed for security needed to run with root access?