Using USB2 on Teensy 3.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

bghiorso

I have no experience using the Teensy for USB. Mostly I've used it for digital I/O and logic.
I need to send/receive short (<40 chars) command style ascii strings to/from a digital motor controller that only talks when addressed.
The controller generally responds within milliseconds of receiving a command. (57600 baud 8 bits 2 stop bits no parity)
The needed functionality is similar to having a conversation with Tera Term or some such emulator except that the Teensy would be sending the commands to the controller. I can do fairly elaborate control routines using LabView and similar programs, but for this application I need an embedded control box with I/O and unconnected to any computer.
I would like to do this using the USB2 port on the Teensy so the main port is available as usual for program development.
I have looked at the library USBHost_t36 but I don't know how to use this for my simple application.
Any guidance or examples would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Bill

I am using a USB to RS485 adapter which is wired to the motor so it is convenient to plug this into the Teensy. I am using the Tall Dog breakout board Standard version A2 with the socket attached to the USB2 port

Again not fully knowing your setup.

You can setup a host USB connector to the T3.6.

The simplest way to try it out is using the USB Host cable: https://www.pjrc.com/store/cable_usb_host_t36.html And of course the talldog setup should work as well.

We have a USBHost_t36 library that works with T3.6 and T4.x boards to communicate with some USB devices. We do have support for several USB to Serial adapters. Not sure if we we have full support for your RS485 device or not. But you could try one of the example sketches like the Serial test to see if it knows your device or not. If not it may be as easy as adding a VID/PID pair to table (Vendor ID/Product ID). Of may need to debug...