Newbie: Question about the "Teensy Loader"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dirk67

Hi,
I'm just a newbie to the arduino- and/or teensy -"world"

I played around already a lot with the C-language, Atmel Studio 6 and flashing AVR's the classical way with the "AVRISP mkII".

Now I found your teensy series of boards and see a lot of advantages for me (maybe... in future...)

Now my Questions about the "Teensy Loader" (mainly about Teensy 2.0):

- It would be important for my planned projects in future
that laymen can update the firmware of the boards (just with their own PC and a simple USB Cable)
This is possible if I understood the "Teensy Loader" concept right... (?)

- The second thing is that the same laymen should also be able to upload new EEPROM contents (EEPROM-Hex-file) by the bootloader.
(I saw this possibility on other bootloaders --> e.g. this one --> http://download.chip45.com/chip45boot2_infosheet.pdf )
is this possible with the "Teensy Loader" as well ?

- can the "Teensy Loader" be used for the teensy 3.0 as well ?

- does the Teensy board (the HalfKay) "wait" (for the "Teensy Loader") after each reboot* some seconds before the user program starts to run ?
*(each reboot = no matter if power-up-event or (reset-)pushbutton)
or the same question the other way around:
- does the HalfKay "distinguish" if the reset comes from a regular power-up-event or from the pushbutton ?

Thanks in advance for your patience ... :eek:

Last edited:
Teensy 3 does not work quite the same way as Arduino. Note that the pushbutton on the Teensy 3 is actually a "program" button, not just "reset", so it starts up the bootloader which is in the secondary ARM chip on the Teensy 3, and waits for the PC to send it a new software load (eg. hex file). There is a reset line brought out to the edge pin, but you have to add your own pushbutton to short it to ground for a reset. With that reset line there is no bootloader in the way, your own program starts running immediately.