Using Teensy for a project with intensive Hardware usage and cross-triggering

LeonF

Hi folks!

I'm an electrical engineering student from Germany, and me and a friend of mine are working on an open-source EMG-based upper limb prosthesis, which is also part of my master thesis.

We are currently looking for a microcontroller to be used as the central data processing unit (DPU) and we would love to use the Teensy 4.0/4.1!
The main advantage here is that the end users don't have to solder the BGA chip themselves, and it's relatively easy for them to program the firmware via USB.

The DPU will communicate with different sensor and actuator boards with hard real-time requirements, and will probably use machine learning to determine hand movements from EMG data. Therefore, the communication should run as completely as possible in hardware, using eDMA transfers that are triggered via (presumably) the PIT. Only switching between different boards should be handled via interrupts.

1701695588768.png

For this, I will have to (and want to) work primarily at register level - though initialization as with the MCUXpresso config tool would be very convenient.
At the same time, however, there are features in Teensyduino that I would very much like to use. Such as SD card libraries or (during development) the USB stack. I also find the synchronization of the RTC with the computer when uploading the firmware very useful!
-> Is there an intermediate way here? (When using Teensyduino it would for example be important to know which peripherals are used by default, I think I saw something like a "Peripheral Resource Overview" in the Beta Thread for the Teensy 4.0)

If not:
What restrictions are there for MCUXpresso projects when they run on the Teensy?
-> Does something have to be considered regarding the fuses? (I'm not very familiar with them yet)
-> Can a hex file created by MCUXpresso be flashed with the Teensy loader?