need help with Teensy libraries using Teensy 4.1 and native ethernet

mmajors

I've got a dumb question about using teensy libraries. I'm a fairly experienced embedded developer, but new to Arduinio and Teensy. My project is to use a Teensy 4.1 to receive some low bandwidth incoming UDP/IP data packets and convert to some other types of I/O. I've got Arduino 1.8.19 and Teensyduino 1.56 installed on a Windows 10 computer.

I want to use the NativeEthernet libraries and I've read the messages at
https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/60857-T4-1-Ethernet-Library/ and some other posts

I ran the UDPSendReceiveString example that came with Teensyduino and it worked just fine where it was directly connected to another computer without a hub/router using static IPs and I used the windows program PacketSender to exercise it from the other networked computer. I was running the example and had to change the IP address and then couldn't save changes because of where it was installed under c:/Program Files (x86)/Arduino/hardware/teensy/avr/libraries/NativeEthernet/......

I would like to take the UDPSendReceiveString project and copy it over to my sketch folder at ../Documents/Arduino/Projects/EthernetProject01/EthernetProject01.ino and add to that for my new project.

However when I build it from there, it can no longer find the native ethernet or fnet libraries. Apparently the teensy libraries are installed in a different path than the regular Arduino libraries. I go to the library manager and try to install them, but there are not there. So I copied the NativeEthernet and FNET libraries from where they got installed over to my sketch folder at ../Documents/Arduino/libraries/NativeEthernet and ../Documents/Arduino/libraries/FNET.

When I try to compile my newly named UDPSendReceiveString sketch it can apparently now build in the NativeEthernet and FNET libraries, but I'm still getting a bunch of type related errors like this: