Variable AHR Oscillator using Arbitrary Waveform

Status
Not open for further replies.

jason11892

Intro:
I'm relatively new to both programming and teensy, and I've been trying to make an oscillator whose waveform shape is controlled kind of like an envelope: with attack, hold, and release parameters being controlled in real time. So far, I've been using an arbitrary waveform in waveformMod (I want to do FM later) with the waveform shape controlled by an array. The points of the array are calculated with conditions and math in a for loop. At first, I coded the full oscillator as I wanted it. It outputted sound and was able to be controlled by the potentiometers, but the teensy would stop completely (USB audio, DAC audio, and serial communication) if the total of the knobs reached a certain point. After some searching, I found the problem: this part of the code
Code:
if ((i <= aKnob1 + hKnob1 + rKnob1) && i <= 256) {
should have been
Code:
if ((i >= aKnob1 + hKnob1 + rKnob1) && i <= 256) {
(see the full code below, you can change it back to what it was previously to see the earlier issue). Without the issue solved, if the total of the outputs was high enough, it would automatically output silence based on the if statement. With it fixed, though, it now outputs no sound. Then, I made a simple proof-of-concept sketch to see if what I'm trying to do is even possible, and it doesn't output sound either.

Question:
Is it even possible to have a variable array for an arbitrary waveform? My proof-of-concept sketch leads me to think no, but before I fixed the previous version I was getting a variable oscillator. Maybe my OSC_SCALE and OSC_OFFSET constants are inaccurate? I thought about making separate arrays for each knob position and just choosing one based on knob positions, but that seems unnecessarily clunky. What method would you suggest to achieve a variable oscillator/waveform?

Info: