Teensy 3.6 crystal accuracy and how to improve it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Polymorph

I'm not new to electronics, but I am fairly new to Arduino and very new to Teensy.

For my first real project, I'm working on this in stages. The plan is start with a frequency counter with a GPS module as a reference/calibration standard, then that controls a DDS like the AD8951. The Teensy will check the output of the DDS and correct it as needed.

I see the Teensy 3.0/1/2 uses a 16MHz crystal. I think I could replace that with a TCXO with +-2.5ppm temp and +-1.5ppm initial accuracy.

But what does the Teensy 3.6 have on it? I see the clock is no longer a multiple of 16.

I may also borrow an idea from another thread here, and stick a Dallas 18B20 on board, but I'm worried about the complexity of changing the crystal register.

Please forgive my ignorance.

I've got a Teensy 3.0 on a little display. I reprogrammed a NEO-6 to output 10MHz. It is currently locked to satellites. The readout on the Teensy 3.0 toggles between 9,999,990 and 9,999,991 Hz. When I change the measurement time to 10S, the display is pretty solidly on 9,999,990 Hz. -1ppm, well within specs for the on-board crystal, but a TCXO would be much closer.

Back to 1 second period: I warmed the crystal on the Teensy 3.0 for about 30 seconds with my fingertip, and the frequency is now toggles between 9,999,992 and ,999,993 Hz, going down as it cools back to room temperature. After being on for an hour, it is now wandering around 4 or 5 for the last digit.

Set to 10 second capture time, the last digits are 5.2 for several minutes, then slowly drifting upwards. It is now on 6.x for the last digit and still drifting upwards.

Clearly this drifts enough with temperature that simply correcting it one time won't get me much. A TCXO on board would be much better.

So what crystal is the Teensy 3.6 using?

Code:
/* Adapted from
 * Arduino Macro Frequency Counter
 *        Teensy 3.0 or higher