Possibility of DIY to create midi for organ stop rail

Status
Not open for further replies.

TJBentley

Hello! I am writing to inquire about the possibility of creating a system to wire 50 individual push buttons with simple on and off function to activate turning on an off individual organ stops on a Virtual Pipe Organ using a Teensy board. In essence it would be using small arcade push buttons or something similar, 1 for each organ stop, and one extra button to clear all.

From reading on the net I believe this to be possible, but don't know where to begin. I am especially concerned about being able to "write" the program code to tell the Teensy board what to do.

I have no experience with "writing code" and minimal soldering skills but I think I could manage the soldering with some practice.

Any advice on which Teensy product to use and how to "write code" would be most helpful.

I visualize the end result as a "strip" of push buttons just above the top keyboard. I know a commercially made product to accomplish this exists (similar to a Novation Launch Pad or Korg Nanokey) but I enjoy the learning experience of making one myself as well as the ability to custom fit it to the organ console as well as the DIY version could offer expansion of adding new additional buttons in the future.

One other desire would be that these "buttons" light up when active and of course go out when inactive.

Thanks in advance for your time and advice.

Tom

Am I perhaps posting this question in the incorrect area or perhaps even the wrong forum -- should I be on the Arduino forum rather than this one or is this topic simply not interesting?

If you have an idea where I might find the advice I seek please be kind enough to point me there.

Thanks,

Tom