Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem with INPUT_PULLUP on pins 3 and 9

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3

    Problem with INPUT_PULLUP on pins 3 and 9

    Hello to all of you, I'm Luca, electrical and electronic technician 53 years old and this is my first post.

    After Arduino UNO, i recently started with Teensy 4.1 and unfortunately I already have a problem trying to use the QuadEncoder library.
    When I set pins 2 and 3 as channels A and B with the PULLUP option active, the encoder on that channel does not work correctly.

    Below I have verified that the problem exists even without the library. I wrote this simple program:

    enc_teensy.ino


    where I simply set all pins as pullUp inputs on setup(). Loop() is empty.

    All pins of Teensy are left unconnected. I connect only microUSB cable.

    With the tester I read that the voltage on all pins is 3.21 Volt. On pins 3 and 9 it is 0.3 Volt and on pin 13 it is 1.69 Volt.
    With teensy not powered and unconnected from all... Measuring with ohmmeter beetwin gnd and pins, I have value arround 56KOhm for all pins. For pin 3 i have 3.9KOhm for pin 9 I have 16 Ohm

    Now I can understand the voltage on pin 13, since there is the LED, but those on 3 and 9 are strange to me.
    Do I already have to think that my Teensy 4.1 was born badly? Or there are reasons that explain this. Note that if I program pin 3 or 9 for are Output they work correctly when i set I have 3.21 Volt and if reset I have 0 Volt.

  2. #2
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    7,637
    I've tested your sketch.. can't confirm this.

    Not good.


    Your ohmmeter.. which voltage does it use for measuring Ohm?
    Last edited by Frank B; 01-21-2021 at 03:05 PM. Reason: lol... volt<-->ohm

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Under 3Volt. Is a common multimeter model HT25N tester from firma HT.
    I never connect my teensy with nothing before today and I only try to test with simple wire connected to pin GND and pins, but i buy them on Amazon and i begin to tink that is not a good idea!

  4. #4
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    7,637
    At least, Amazon makes it easy to return parts...

  5. #5
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    8,195
    Works on the T4.1 I just tried... Pin 3 and 9 are fine.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Thanks.
    Now I arrange to have him replaced.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •