Audio on the Teensy 3.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jomac

Hello,
Im looking for a little guidance and advice here. Im working on a project that needs audio feedback on functions selected for blind users. This is for an amateur radio transceiver. Im not an expert in Teensy audio, and not too sure of the best method to use. One of the functions would be to read out the current frequency selected, ie 14.123 Mhz which would be stored as 7 separate files, and each one called up as needed to generate the full frequency phrase that is required.

What concerns me is the access time required to obtain the 7 files to generate the full frequency chosen. Would i be better storing each phase as an MP3 file, or as a RAW wave file, which would be the quickest and easiest method to use?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

John

Thanks for the info and links, i will have a deeper read later on, however, its not the storage or access to the files thats of concern, but the time taken to do so. If i wanted to for arguments sake, let the Teensy count from 1 to 9 without any noticeable pause between each number, i want to be able to store the audio for each number, 9 separate files, and then access and playback each one, one at a time.

My audio code is asynchronous, there is no delay playing an audio sample from the Flash, you can have a large or as small a gap between the samples as you like.