Bluetooth hid game controller with Teensy 3.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigshaq10

Hi, i would like to build a bluetooth gamepad with bluefruit ez-key and teensy 3.1(because the bluefruit doesn't have analog pin). I think everything is ok for the connections between the boards but I have no knowledge for coding the teensy in order to make it communicate with the bluefruit
Can you help me?

Yes I know but the problem is that i would like to add 2 joystick to my gamepad and the bluefruit doesn't provide analog pins. That's why i need to connect an additional microcontroller.

Yes I know but the problem is that i would like to add 2 joystick to my gamepad and the bluefruit doesn't provide analog pins. That's why i need to connect an additional microcontroller.

Adafruit has some example code that shows how to send keyboard and mouse messages via Bluefruit EZ-Key. I have asked in their forum if it is possible to act like a joystick device, which is what I will need to do for things like the Android-based OUYA.

Here is their page on sending commands serially to the EZ-Key so they are transmitted via Bluetooth:

http://learn.adafruit.com/introducing-bluefruit-ez-key-diy-bluetooth-hid-keyboard/sending-keys-via-serial

There is sample code there that could be easily used on the Teensy.

First, sorry for reviving a few month old thread.

I am too also looking at doing something similar. I was planning to purchasing a teensy and using a bluetooth module to make a Bluetooth Gamepad/Joystick. So far what I figured is that the teensy would communicate with the Bluetooth Module via the TX & RX lines along with a power and ground. The main issue is trying to get the teensy to initialize the bluetooth packets as a joystick/gamepad. After that we would just need to figure out how to pass the joystick data over bluetooth instead of USB.

So does anyone know how to do the following:
1) Initialize a bluetooth module as a Joystick/Gamepad