Teensy 3.1: use flash mem

Status
Not open for further replies.

mete

Hi,

I'm pretty new to all that. I'm actually just a programmer. I was wondering, if I could write from my program to the rest of the flash mem in Teensy 3.1? My program uses 12-20kb only and then rest of the 256kb is unused. I would like to store stuff there instead of using a MicroSD card. Is that even possible? When browsing the source code I just found read functions for the flash mem.

Thanks and greetings,
Mete

Will the data you have fit into the non-volatile memory area that emulates the EEPROM as in Atmel AVR?
Of course, an SD card is gigabytes in size. The default non-volatile area size is 2048 bytes.
It is possible for your program to write data into fixed size blocks of flash memory, but it is rarely done.

Thank you! The data would not fit into 2048 bytes. It will be up to ~230'000 bytes. How would I write data into fixed size blocks of flash memory?

I don't think there are Teensyduino library calls to do that. It may be that you can write low level code to call the flash block read/write, but it may also be that the Teensy memory scheme is to lock the flash after downloading.

230KB would be about half of the Teensy 3.1's flash. If I recall, this K20 CPU does flash erase in 1KB blocks. But if the bootloader locks the entire flash, you have a no-go as is.

It would be better/easier to use either an SD card or an added EEPROM chip on the I2C bus.

Last edited:
if I could write from my program to the rest of the flash mem in Teensy 3.1? My program uses 12-20kb only and then rest of the 256kb is unused. I would like to store stuff there instead of using a MicroSD card. Is that even possible?

I believe this may be possible, but with some serious caveats. So far, nobody has done it.