A total noob question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everybody,

I've just starting learning to use my Teensy 2.0++, and I've stumbled in something that appears to be very strange for a total noob like me.

I've written and run the following simple code that counts from 0x0000 to 0xFFFF, and sends the value in hex notation to the serial port.

------------

word i;

void setup(){

Serial.begin(9600);

Serial.println("Start counting !");

for (i = 0; i <= 0xFFFF; i++) {
Serial.println(i,HEX);
if (i == 0xFFFF) {
Serial.println("FFFF reached !");
}
}

Serial.println("Count finished!");

}

void loop()
{
}

------------

Looking at the serial monitor in the Arduino IDE, when I run this code, the setup() routine, that I thought would be run only once, is instead executed repeatedly, and the line that prints "Count finished!" is never executed, and appears to be always skipped.

Why is that ?

It looks like the Teensy is being reset at the end of the for loop.

How can I make the program do something after the first for loop ?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited:
The issue is that you will never exit your for loop:
That is
Code:
word i;
for (i = 0; i <= 0xFFFF; i++) {
A word on an Arduino (Teensy 2) is 16 bits long, so it can hold values from 0-65535 (0-0xffff).
Now suppose in your loop i is equal to 0xffff, the loop continues. Now you increment i and as
the variable is only 16 bits long i is now 0, which is less than 65536, so you will never exit.

Hope that helps
Kurt

is a type "word" signed or unsigned?
Many prefer to use the standardized type names:
int // machine dependent size
int16_t // always 16 bit signed
uint16_t // always 16 bit unsigned
int32_t
uint32_t // often used where signed arithmetic isn't applicable

and so on

I recall that 'word' is an old Intel CPU notion

word/byte types have been around for a long time, but are different on different platforms.
Both of these are unsigned.