Serial and mixed up characters

Status
Not open for further replies.

nlecaude

Hello,

I'm working on a system where I have some stations that are a couple meters apart. I'm using Teensys and Xbee 802.15.4 for communication.
I have a master xbee that sends broadcast to the other xbees that are receivers (and never send anything back)
At the moment I'm sending an array of bytes using Serial1.write(buffer, length) and on the receiving side I'm using Serial.readBytes(buffer, length)
The problem I have is that if I power the sender first and the receivers last, the byte order seems to get mixed. Same happens if I shut down one of the receivers briefly and power it back on, it seems to loose track of the correct order.
Is there a way around this ? More specific code here:

That's my send code (I currently send a 2 byte array)
Code:
Serial1.write(frame, 2);

And this is on the receiving side:
Code:
  byte frame[2];

if (Serial1.available() == 2)
  {
    Serial1.readBytes(frame, 2);
  }

You are sending bytes in pairs, but if the receiver misses the 1st byte, it'll just combine #2 & #3 etc -- this looking like it is offsetting them.

When you start a serial link like this, it's best to have the receiver send out "I'm here" messages until it gets an "I see you" message or the start of data from the transmitter. The transmitter should not start sending data until it sees the "I'm here" message. If your data can be arbitrary, if may be difficult for the receiver to distinguish and "I see you" message from the start of data.

The "I'm here" can just be 0xAA bytes.

So the transmitter code is like this:
while (didn't get a AA) ; // do nothing
now send the 'good' data....

The receiver is:
while(nothing received) send AA;
wait for "I see you"
read 'good' data