System clock and analog level translation questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

emarsh

I'm an experienced professional software engineer but a hardware noob. For decades I've felt that pure software is too abstract - it's lives in it's own domain but is isolated from directly interfacing with the real world. Now that I'm retired and have some free time I've picked up Arduino and and have been working on some proof of concept projects for my racing motorcycle. I'm quickly moving beyond the capabilities of the standard 8/16mhz Arduino and purchased a Teensy 2.0 and 3.1 for future development.

My current project is a turbocharger boost controller that will be integrated with a data logger. I'm kicking around the idea of controlling the boost based on data acquisition (for example, the faster the rear wheel turns the greater the amount of boost.) I'll be open sourcing the work when I'm satisfied with it.

The 3.1 looks like a wonderful device for my purposes. It's powerful, small and inexpensive. There are just a couple questions that I have since I'm still coming up to speed on the hardware side.

First of all, the real time clock appears to be something that I'd like to use. I see that there are a variety of 32.768khz crystals for sale on the web. Do you have a specific form factor/model/vendor that you recommend? Better yet, do you have some to sell?