N00b project- Using teensy to translate CV into MIDI DIN out

Status
Not open for further replies.

atari5200

Hello-
New to the forum, hi, how are you? :D

I'm a relative n00b to working with Teensy, but I've dabbled in Arduino projects so I have some, very basic, working knowledge. I'm a musician and I've worked on some controllers, sensor arrays, etc all for the purpose of sending MIDI CC's over USB to be used by a DAW. That's been fun and relatively easy to bumble through so far. But I'd like to construct a new device that is slightly more complicated and I'm not sure how to really get going on it.
I'd like to build a control pedal to directly control my Strymon TimeLine delay pedal. What I'd like to do is set up some pots and footswitches to give me extended control over some of the "hidden" functions (basically things that are controllable via MIDI CC's but require a bit of menu-diving to access on the pedal itself). To further complicate matters, I would also like to be able to take CV signals from my modular synth and be able to use those to control certain parameters as well. Finally, the signals need to be output via MIDI DIN, since I want to interface with the Strymon directly, no laptop required, and that's the part that I have no experience working with.

Just looking for a little assistance in how to start approaching this- to begin with, how to take CC's generated by pots and output them as MIDI through a DIN socket. The CV control, I think, sort of follows from that- I believe I can input CV into the analog ins of the Teensy (provided I have a voltage clamp on the circuit so the voltage doesn't exceed 5V) and that should essentially work just like a pot would. But please correct me if I'm wrong!