H-bridge for two DC motors

Status
Not open for further replies.

escallic

Hey all!

I am new to microcontrollers and transistors, so any help is valuable to me. Here's my scenario:

I have a Teensy 2.0 with which I want to drive two 9V DC motors in both directions (cw and ccw). Each motor draws a maximum of 780mA when stalled. The external power supply (a Lego Mindstorms NXT microcontroller) I have for the Teensy supplies both 4.3V and 9V simultaneously. I want to use I2C to feed the Teensy instructions for motor control from the NXT's 'sensor' port. I need two extra EV3-medium-motors (in addition to 3 NXT motors) for my Lego Mindstorms robot but can't afford the extra weight from another set of 6 AA batteries for a second NXT.

I know I need some kind of H-bridge to drive the motors, but I don't know which H-bridge is appropriate for this as there are many variations of H-bridges. Should I build one out of NPN, PNP, FET, etc transistors? I found the L298N, a dual H-bridge integrated circuit. Is this what I need? What additional resistors, capacitors, diodes, and other components would I need and how would they appear in a circuit with the L298N and Teensy? If on the datasheet for L298N it requires 4.5V - 7V for a logical supply, but the NXT only supplies either 4.3V or 9V, does this mean that I would need a voltage regulator somewhere?

I'm hoping for a low-volume (small) and cheap solution--emphasis on the latter since I am a cheap person. :)

Any insight on which software libraries I will need then would be helpful, too.

I know I am ignorant and have so many doubts about this. Please, I'd really appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance! :)