Teensy in an MRI

Status
Not open for further replies.

spectasaurus

Hi,

I have a research project that involves placing a Teensy 3.1 in a 3 Tesla MRI. Unfortunately it seems that this does not work and the Teensy becomes unresponsive. I have no experience with such things, but does anyone know why the Teensy becomes unresponsive? I am curious if there are any components on the PCB that might be susceptible to high magnetic field? Any help is greatly appreciated.

There is general concern about loops of wire having induced currents from the ever changing magnetic field. It's also a pretty heavy RF environment. You can't help the loops that are on the PCB, but you can help the loops and inherent antennas that are part of the typical crap on a breadboard prototype So... Step one is to get a virgin no pins teensy of your desire, load it up with blink, and give it the static 3T. Still blinking? Start running sequences. Still blinking? Try adding peripherals piecemeal.

Stops blinking? You might try different clock speeds, using only the teensy 3.1 5V tolerant pins, or switching to the Atmel based 5V Teensy for a deferent architecture. You might try shielding things in a non-ferrous metal box with non-magnetic screws.

Good luck! Hope this helps. Let us know what works in the end.

If you have "no experience with such things" you have no business doing experiments without the guidance of someone knowledgeable and responsible. Volunteers on the internet might be knowledgeable but certainly aren't accountable for whatever you break or whomever you injure. Try googling for 'MRI accident' if you aren't convinced.

If you have "no experience with such things" you have no business doing experiments without the guidance of someone knowledgeable and responsible. Volunteers on the internet might be knowledgeable but certainly aren't accountable for whatever you break or whomever you injure. Try googling for 'MRI accident' if you aren't convinced.