Building A 25-Key Midi Pedalboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

debrad

Hello everyone!

After receiving positive encouragement in the "Project Guidance" board, I went ahead and purchased a Teensy++ 2.0 to serve as the basis for a 25-key Midi pedalboard which I hope to populate with 25 momentary stomp switches for keys, 2 stomp switches for "octave up" and "octave down", a slide potentiometer for "velocity", and 2 more momentary stomp switches for "modulation" and "sustain/damper/hold".

While waiting for my Teensy++ to arrive (1-week to the day I ordered!!!), I read through a number of related threads on forums, watched videos, studied "instructables", sent and received e-mails, and saved a bunch of sketches. As a result, I feel pretty comfortable with the basic concepts of what I'm trying to do and how to write code that will get me there.

Having said that, I already have some questions to ask "up front". Now, bear in mind that I am brand new to coding...both in terms of computer programming AND midi programming...so please be gentle on me if and when I ask incredibly lame questions but know in advance that I'm eager to learn and more than happy to navigate my way to existing resources when appropriate.

My first question relates to the fact that I have found several sketches that read digital "key" inputs and incorporate code for shifting octaves up and down; however, their approaches are different enough that I can't pull any commonalities from them. One used a basic approach similar to the "buttons" example (i.e. "rising edge"/"falling edge") but also incorporated a "flash table" that assigned a specific midi note value to each pin. Another sketch used "boolean" note-on states and appears to set pitches relative to the initial octave. A third sketch is reading notes from a chip on an IC2 bus and a number of other discussions talked about using stored arrays.