Multiple power sources for teensy (and also supplying power)

Status
Not open for further replies.

timmyt

I am using the teensy 3.1 in a project in which it may be powered by either 5v or 12v (probably only one or the other. It is unlikely but possible that it may have both connected at the same time)
The arduino UNO says that it can take input power of 7-12v and in its schematics it shows this
U1ZhvGS.png

Also I found this which shows multiple power sources
kSxAa.png

Also, I need to supply 3.3v power to something. I know that the 3.3v pin on the teensy can supply up to 100mA, so I was just going to use that. But since I was worried about something maybe drawing too much power I thought it would be good to put a 75mA resettable fuse on it (for a bit less than 100mA to be safe?)

And so I came up with this:
6Xg4gqU.png

Just wanted to post this here and see if anyone can see something wrong with it or a better way to do it since I have never done anything like this before. I am not entirely sure about how to choose the capacitors for this but I am just copying the arduino schematics.
Also what's with that extra 100nf cap on the right side of the arduino power circuit? Do I need that?

The basic design of the circuit is sound but a couple of points:
You probably don't need the diode D1 IF you can be sure 12V will never be connected reversed. If that's possible then leave it in.

The voltage at D3/D2 will be ~0.5V below 5V. This will not matter for your circuit since the T3 will run happily on that, but watch out for anything else that really needs that full 5V supply.

The capacitors are:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decoupling_capacitor