Ganssle's free newsletter, SMT tips

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is this possible?

So speaking of SMT....

Is this even possible to hand solder with a fine tip solder station and a magnifying lamp?
I'm looking for any tips before I attempt it.... I've only got 3 tries.

20150908_182519.jpg
Bosch BMP280 (labels wrong on circuit board)

Last edited:
FWIW, I have found careful alignment, lots of flux, and a chisel tip to work best for such components, i.e. Drag soldering. You could consider gluing the component down first with a spot of superglue.

Should I pre-tin the pads or try to flow in solder?
I'm thinking moderatly generous pretin the board only and pre-flux the chip pads.

I'm NOT a SMT-soldering expert (total beginner) but that's a leadless package and it looks like the pads on your boards are barely larger than the pads on the device. I don't see how you're going to solder that with an iron, regardless of tip. If you had long pads that would let you put the iron on the pad NEXT TO the chip, I could see that having a chance (I think that's how Schmartboards are supposed to work, though they also have grooves in the pads to guide the solder and iron).

You might need to use a hot-air station or, really, the toaster-oven or skillet method, to solder those chips to those boards.

Or, try a new layout with extended pads (without solder mask on them) so you can tin enough of the pad that you can get the iron on the pad while the chip is sitting in the proper position. Fortunately that's only a couple bucks worth of OSHPark purple goodness.

Good luck.

I agree, I should have made the pads longer. As it is there is a only tiny bit of pad exposed after placing the chip.

I've also been considering the hot plate idea. Maybe a small aluminum plate an using my butane soldering iron with the hot air tip.

Using cyanoacralate is a great idea so the chip doesn't blow away if I go with hot air.