Can Teensy handle a camera?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BuckyKatt

Hello.

Been very interested reading about Teensy, but I'm still new at this microprocessor stuff, so bear with my spotty ideas...

Since Teensy is considerably faster than the Arduino, I'm wondering if it has an interface that can keep up with a 4MP or 5MP camera taking a still picture. All I basically need is to get the Teensy to take the data and push it out over some sort of WiFi.

I would be extremely interested to use something like a OV5647 or OV4682, but I'm not sure exactly how to hook these up for maximum speed.

I would like to push 1.5~2MB of data in 2 or 3 seconds or less... but 5 or 6 would probably also work.

Any thoughts that might point me in a workable direction would be appreciated. Thanks.

BKNJ

I suspect it may be impossible for the Teensy, since it only has 64K of SDRAM (read/write memory), while the image coming off the camera would be much bigger (figure 12-15 megabytes of memory if the image is uncompressed by the camera). You would presumably need to buffer the entire image before sending it out via wifi. If you need to process it in any way, it is problematical to have to do it and shift it to/from temporary storage. In addition, if you need to do any image adjustment on the photo, it typically involves floating point, which the Teensy emulates in software.

It would be fairly simple to do this on the Raspberry Pi, using the Pi camera (or the faster 3rd party cameras that hook up to the same interface) and a wifi usb dongle. The Pi runs an order of magnitude faster than the Teensy (with 2 or 4 cores in addition to raw speed), has 256M - 1G of memory, hardware floating point, an off-board graphics processor, and the Linux networking stack is more mature. I've in fact done this, using the raspistill command to take a photo, and the ssh scp command to copy it to my laptop.