Feasability of using Teensy 3.1 for a telescope autoguider (processing small images)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamoSmr

Hello everyone,

I have some experience with arduino but I am new to Teensy, just ordered some boards to play around :)

What I have in my mind for a project is a stand alone telescope autoguider (this means it should be small and light and battery has to last at least a few hours - so no beaglebone, etc). What this device does is to control a telescope based on the small changes of the position of a star on an image. It can be actually a very small image since only small changes in the of up to 5 pixels are expected.
Once I can get a position of a star on an image, other calulations and communications are easy.

I am trying to figure out if Teensy is powerful enough to take images and do some convolution on very small images.
The CMOS sensor I want to use is Aptina MT9M001 1280x1024 with 10 bit parallel output (I am limited to this one since it has to be monochrome and high sensitivity - 10 bit is also a big plus). Minimum clock frequency is 1 MHz (1 frame/s, which I would accept as usefull, but better would be if I can get 5 fps). I would probably use a 128x128 OLED display for user interfacing - black should be really black.

The idea is to read the sensor and bin the data as it is read to memory in blocks of 8x8 pixels (and use only lower 8-9 bits to avoid overflow of integers), to get a resolution of 128x160 as a preview.
How fast would Teensy be able to read parallel data and store it in a variable of the according position of the data array based on the current pixel readout position (i.e. divide the integer pixel number by 8 to get the correct positions in the 128x160 binned array and add the read integer to the one already in the memory)?
Simultanously it has to run the clock for the CMOS with 45-55% duty cycle at at least 1 MHz - 5 would be nice :)