impossible constraint in 'asm'

Status
Not open for further replies.

agys

Hello to everybody,

I just got my first Teensy 3.2 board and I'm loving it so far.
I have some experience with Arduino and I'm trying to port a project to the Teensy especially for it's extra memory.
I'm driving a VFD display from Noritake and I'm using their library which contains a small asm part…
When I try to compile it for the Teensy it get this error:

impossible constraint in 'asm'

The complete function:
Code:
static inline void tunedDelay(uint16_t delay){
  uint8_t tmp=0;

asm volatile("sbiw    %0, 0x01 \n\t"
	"ldi %1, 0xFF \n\t"
	"cpi %A0, 0xFF \n\t"
	"cpc %B0, %1 \n\t"
	"brne .-10 \n\t"
	: "+r" (delay), "+a" (tmp)
	: "0" (delay)
	);
}

The complete library can be found here:
https://www.noritake-elec.com/specification.php?id=Arduino_Noritake_VFD_CUY&category=10&type=cuy

Many thanks for eventual help!

Well..this is assembler for AVR. You can't use that for Teensy 3 ! The Teensy 3 uses an ARM cpu.
The good news is, that it seems to be a delay - perhaps you can replace the assemblercode with simply calling "delayMicroseconds() " ?
Maybe it's needed to adjust the "delay" value, then.
I don't know how long the code above waits.

Simply try:
Code:
static inline void tunedDelay([B]const [/B]uint16_t delay){
 delayMicroseconds(delay);
}
If that does not work, it may be too fast, then try delay*10 or similar..

Perhaps there is a measuring of the loop-time somewhere else in the code, the name " tunedDelay" indicates that.

Last edited:
Frank & Paul, thank you very much for your input!

I recompiled the project and as the asm portion has been substituted with the regular delay function it doesn't throw any error.
I wonder why the original author(s) rewrote it? Maybe for precision? It seems to me that the value passed as argument is small… (14 or more).

I can't test the display (yet) because it's running on 5V…
I hoped that maybe the logic would work anyway but it doesn't.