Teensy 3.1 Midi - USB Interface: 1 in+2 Out/Thru (split) + Midi Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello All,
I am a Sound Engineer and often I am required to run two Mac based sequencers in sync with each other.
I would like to make a controller to give me basic functions like "Go/Play", "Next", "Back", "Pause" and "stop" (Like a glorified old school tape machine AND maybe a pot for Master Volume control. These can be generic on/off Midi commands or MMC commands).
So thats 5 buttons and a Slider/Pot. There are many tutorials on how to do this with the Teensy, but I would also like to incorporate some other functions which would be very useful to me.
A MIDI in (So I can use the device as a stand alone Midi - USB converter when I need it)
2 x MIDI Out (Again so I can use it as a USB-MIDI device PLUS send the Controller side of it out PLUS act as a MIDI Thru port from the MIDI in AND an output from the USB MIDI.
I plan on adding a 5V power in (so would cut the tracer from USB + Pads on the Teensy so that all devices get their needs met in the chain: the Teensy and 2 x MIDI devices).
Phew.
Do you think that is possible with just the Teensy? I have found MIDI controller tutorials and Midi to USB tutorials using the Teensy, and MIDI splitter tutorials (without the teensy) but am unsure of how to combine them all.
And how many Buttons/sliders would I be able to have on my controller after allowing for the other ins/outs? I would probably just max it out for future uses.
It would be fantastic for me to have one box that does it all and is flexible in its uses rather than doing everything independently - It creates so much clutter having a controller and then a cable to a splitter and then a USB interface... I would rather have it all in one compact box!

Regards,

Sandy

Ok, This has taken me all day to draw! Well, not to draw, but to find a program to use and figure out how to use it!