Bitmap refresh / Audio streaming.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've managed to get audio and a bitmap running with no issues (now).

I was just wondering how I would now go about changing an image every 'N' seconds, whilst the audio is running?

It's probably something really basic I'm missing (I'm self taught), and I have tried things like running a while loop etc, but the image will only change on every loop rather than every 'N' seconds..

Is this something that in need to do with timers, as here:

https://learn.adafruit.com/multi-tasking-the-arduino-part-1/a-clean-sweep

Or, is there another way?
(I'm sort of out of my depth at this point.. I'm looking to run multiple tasks generally, not just for this combination).

Also, could I just add multiple audio ICs in the same manner, or would that require alternative coding?

Thanks in advance!

This is where I start to venture in to 'unsolved understanding' on my part..

I saw that I can assign different timers with the libraries provided on the main Teensy site. https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_timing_IntervalTimer.html

This is the first time I've done anything like this.
I've been running standalone multiplexing etc, but I always fall in to issues.

I can digest/follow the tutorial in the link in my initial post, but are there any pitfalls I should be aware of?

Is there any information on where is best to start?

In 'realtime' I'm guessing that 'segments' of bits/bytes are sent to effectively a DAC.
This and basically a much more complex version of a multiplexing system?

Am I right in saying that it follows 'go do this for a fraction of a split second', then 'go and do this now for this split second' (unnoticeable to human interpretation).

I apologise if this all seems very 'noob' of me, but, as my username suggests, in many respects, I am that.

In:

"Up to 4 IntervalTimer objects may be active simultaneuously. The tone function and several libraries use an IntervalTimer.".