Two-wheeled balancing robot

Status
Not open for further replies.

shukmeister

Hello everyone,

I am a hardware amateur, and am building a robot that balances on two wheels as my first project. This is very difficult for me so I'm running into a few problems.

My robot is built from:
  • Teensy 3.2
  • MPU6050
  • DRV8835
  • HC-05
1) Out of the many open source libraries available, I cannot pick one that works best for a balancing robot.

At the moment, I am using Kris Winer's Library . Is this the right one to use for a balancing robot?
I liked the idea of using the DMP, but couldn't get Jeff Rowberg's Library to ouput anything over serial.
I have also tried TKJ electronics library.
I was a big fan of Barret's Projects Code but he doesn't use a MPU6050 so porting is difficult.

2) Using Kris Winer's library, is it possible to start and calibrate the MPU6050 from a vertical orientation. The MPU6050 must be positioned on the axle of the robot for accurate balance control, but it is difficult to mount it horizontally near the wheels. I've designed a connection to vertically mount it, but the ouput always seem off.
My wiring: http://postimg.org/image/eygsharyl/
Video: https://gfycat.com/TerrificUglyGraywolf (note how the horizontal orientation is 80 and not 90 degrees. also, note that the 0 position is ~2.3 degrees)

3) Why does the pitch not change from positive to negative after crossing 90 degrees?
Video: https://gfycat.com/ShadyLeafyDodo

4) Does changing delta_t impact performance? How often should I call MadgwickQuaternionUpdate()? From my testing, I've noticed that my motors are very slow to react to changes in angle (even when serial debugging output is off).

5) Does the INT pin need to be wired to the Teensy?

6) Do I need to use the i2c_t3 library? Kris Winer's code doesn't use it, but his seems to be the most complete mathematically. I could not find any i2c_t3 examples that use the MPU6050.