Audio File playback dependent on time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

snipeworm

Hello!

I am a firefighter looking to improve the life of my crew. Here is the breakdown..... We have a Federal Informer (basically a piece of equipment listening to dispatch that alarms when certain tones are sounded) The problem is that the Informer is only capable of playing pre loaded alarms consisting mainly of insanely intrusive audio files. Not a deal breaker until 2 am when the laser beam effect jolts your heart rate from 60 to 200 in half a second! The informer does have a relay which can be programmed to to stay closed for a programmed length of time. The current Laser beam is set to fire for 8 seconds when triggered. So this brings me to my set of questions that I hope you can help me with.

1. Is the Arduino script and the Teensy 3 capable of running without error for months on end?
2. In the event of power failure would the Teensy reboot back to operation once power is restored?
3. Can I somehow edited a script so that when the teensy senses the relay has been closed (I assume it would simply act as a switch in the tutorial) the teensy would choose between 2 sound files based on the time of day? For example, a louder harsher alarm for day hours and a more subdued alarm for the hours of 10 pm to 7 am? I am not sure how to incorporate the clock but I noticed a shield adapter (here) with clock battery holder. Does this mean the Teensy has the ability to hold time?

I thank you in advance for your help. I have been trying to use a Rasberry Pi to make this project a reality but after stumbling on the teensy I think this may be a better solution! And I am getting tired of printing "hello world" in Javascript!:D

Hello!